Harry Potter

Harry Potter Products

The Harry Potter series is one of the most popular book series in modern day literature. It tells the story of a young wizard who goes from living with his non-magical aunt and uncle, to attending Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

This post will provide an introduction to the series, as well as insight into Harry Potter's life at Hogwarts. Tips for what to read first are also included.

Take that broom! We've got some interesting concepts on how you can break into this worldwide phenomenon! We’ll cover what exactly Harry Potter is, when you should start reading it, and where you can find more information about JK Rowling’s works on your own.

The Harry Potter series is known worldwide. As of 2018, all seven books have sold more than 500 million copies, with the latest installment (Harry Potter and the Cursed Child) selling an estimated 110 million copies worldwide—making it the fastest-selling book in history. At least 400 million of those were sold in the United States alone. It's also safe to say that very few people haven’t heard of Harry Potter during their lifetime, or at least heard of someone who has read a Harry Potter book.

The Harry Potter series itself is a series of seven books that tell the story of Harry Potter, a young wizard who goes from living with his non-magical aunt and uncle, to attending Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The first book begins when Harry is 11 years old, and finishes when he is 18.

Throughout the books, you will read about both the Muggle (non-magical) world, as well as the Wizarding (magical) world. While there are some who don’t know about either world (the Dursleys), there are others who know about one (Hermione Granger), or two (Sirius Black).

The one thing you need to know before reading Harry Potter is that while they are written for children, there are some dark and scary moments throughout the series, so make sure you read them at the right age. These books are best approached in a similar way to the Lord of the Rings books—read them all as they come out, then re-read them a year later. The reason for this is because certain things that appear early on in each book will be referenced later on. If you wait a year between your first reading of each book, you'll only have to re-read that particular book once per year. (If you don’t like to re-read books, that’s very understandable. But it is definitely worth it on this one.)

Harry Potter Books in Order of Publication

The Harry Potter book series was published in the following order:

  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (1997)
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (1998)
  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (1999)
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (2000)
  • Harry Potter and the Order of Phoenix (2003)
  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (2005)
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (2007)
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (2016)

Check out all our HP merch in this Collection online and in-store!

See More